MMORPG Thoughts

The thoughts that come to mind when thinking about MMORPG’s, Massive Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game’s, are thoughts about strategically picking/creating your own avatar.  Some games that I have had personal experience in include:

  • Runescape
  • Maple Story
  • Flyff
  • Eudemons
  • Diablo II

Runescape was the very first mmorpg I played back in my high school years.  I can still remember killing chickens, cows, chopping down trees, mining, fishing, cooking, questing and more.  I used to play this game constantly after school, it was my addiction.  It was something I could own up to, something that gave me virtual meaning.  I went online to fight the virtual monsters in hopes of someday fighting real monsters.  In a small way I thought Runescape taught me a lot.  I learned that copper and tin make bronze.  I learned how to buy/sell materials.  I learned how to trust people.  I gained friends from doing quests.

Maple Story, Flyff, Eudemons were free mmorpg’s I decided to play with my freshmen roommate.  These were basic short bursts of fun.  As soon as my roommate got as high a level as he could he would find another mmorpg and I would follow.  I took me until junior year to kick the habit of mmorpg’s.  My life had now been plopped.  All this time spent in front of screen, has dampered my chances of finding reality.  What I did instead of mmorpg’s was sit blindingly in front of a TV and just watch what ever was on.  That is also unhealthy, but what was I to do?  I was used to the fact of being in front of screen.  Luckily I had somehow made friends with someone active, my freshmen roommate came to knowing.  Dodgeball is one of my favorite get togethers with my friends.

Diablo II was the very first mmorpg I payed for and enjoyed playing a lot with actual friends.  It brought back old memories of virtual addiction and sadly has gotten me hooked once again.  Mentioning the game name has made me want to continue playing.  It was recently that I decided to take a break from playing the game.  I’m on day four and I haven’t even touched the game.

If only I could use this kind of experience on my application….that would be the day.

3 responses to “MMORPG Thoughts

  1. I am so afraid of trying any “gaming” apps.! I hear stories from my co-workers about staying up all night play games and how much fun they have. I would get so addicted and probably lose my job! 🙂

    • I’ve done that before, stayed up all night playing games. The input may seem productive but really the output is nothing. Putting all this time and effort in a game, your probably going to stop playing eventually down the road, and getting nothing but wasted time out it.

  2. MMORPGs are definitely essay worthy, as noted earlier, with an emphasis on the “social” elements. Are you familiar with “The Guild” http://www.hulu.com/the-guild ?
    Might be a valuable resource.

    Give your games the Levinson test:

    The consumer is a producer
    The producer is almost always a non-professional
    The main purpose of producing new new media is not to make money
    New new media is always free
    The medium varies in both length and media platforms (ex: sort tweets vs. long blog posts)
    Various forms of new new media are interconnected and might compete with and/or complement each other

    They might not hold up as well as some other services, but that doesn’t necessary mean they aren’t social media.

    Consider comparing MMORPGs to a social game or two like farmville or the ones that seem more like MMORPGs.

    And of course, tetracize your topic. : )

Leave a Reply

